

# LGA Vice-Presidents 2020/21

# **Purpose of report**

For decision.

## **Summary**

This paper outlines those Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords the LGA Political Group Offices, working with the Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement team, will be inviting to be our honorary Vice-Presidents for 2020-21.

#### Recommendation

That the General Assembly notes the appointment of the Members of Parliament and Peers, listed below, as Vice-Presidents for 2020/21.

Contact officer: Lee Bruce

Position: Head of Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement

Email: lee.bruce@local.gov.uk



# LGA Vice-Presidents 2020/21

Set out below are the Vice-President appointments for 2020/21:

#### Conservative

- Charles Walker MP (Broxbourne)
- Bob Blackman MP (Harrow East)
- Andrew Lewer MP (Northampton South)
- Simon Hoare MP (North Dorset)
- Julia Lopez MP (Hornchurch and Upminster)
- Tim Loughton MP (East Worthing and Shoreham)
- Mark Pawsey MP (Rugby and Bulkington)
- Andrew Selous (South West Bedfordshire)
- Neil O'Brien MP (Harborough Oadby and Wigston)
- David Simmonds MP (Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)
- Sara Britcliffe MP (Hyndburn)
- Fiona Bruce MP (Congleton)
- Mary Robinson MP (Cheadle)
- Baroness Couttie
- Lord Whitby
- Lord True
- Baroness Eaton
- Lord Farmer

#### Labour

- Clive Betts MP (Sheffield South East)
- Catherine McKinnell MP (Newcastle upon Tyne North)
- Steve Reed MP (Croydon North)
- Wes Streeting MP (Ilford North)
- Catherine West MP (Hornsey and Wood Green)
- Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West and Royton)
- Preet Kaur Gill MP (Edgbaston, Birmingham)
- Helen Hayes MP (Dulwich and West Norwood)
- Diana Johnson MP (Kingston upon Hull North)
- Mike Amesbury MP (Weaver Vale)
- Abena Oppong-Asare (Erith and Thamesmead)
- Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall)
- Feryal Clark MP (Enfield North)
- Rachel Hopkins MP (Luton South)
- Dan Jarvis MP (Barnsley Central)
- Lord Beecham
- Lord Kennedy of Southwark
- Baroness Smith of Basildon
- Lord Smith of Leigh



#### Association

- Lord Whitty
- Lord Bassam of Brighton
- Lord Filkin
- Baroness Wilcox of Newport

### **Liberal Democrats**

- Layla Moran MP (Oxford West and Abingdon)
- Sir Ed Davey MP (Kingston and Surbiton)
- Wera Hobhouse MP (Bath)
- Daisy Cooper MP (St Albans)
- Tim Farron MP (Westmorland and Lonsdale)
- Baroness Brinton
- Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville
- Baroness Janke
- Baroness Scott of Needham Market
- Lord Shipley
- Baroness Pinnock
- Baroness Thornhill
- Lord Storey
- Lord Scriven
- Lord Tope

## Independents

- Lord Best (crossbench)
- Lord Adebowale (crossbench)
- Earl of Lytton (crossbench)
- Lord Bird (crossbench)
- Baroness Howarth of Breckland (crossbench)
- Baroness Greengross (crossbench)
- Baroness Grey-Thompson (crossbench)
- Lord Bichard (crossbench)
- Earl of Listowel (crossbench)
- Bishop of St Albans (crossbench)
- Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle (Green)
- Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
- Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru)
- Liz Saville-Roberts MP (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)
- Ben Lake MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)

<sup>\*</sup>The Independent Group also plan to invite Dame Louise Casey to become a LGA Vice-President when Dame Louise joins the House of Lords.



## **Code of Conduct**

The Vice-Presidents are required to operate in accordance with the Code of Conduct for Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. This is made clear in the invitations to new Vice-Presidents and will be referenced in letters to those Vice-Presidents whose role is being renewed for a further year.

# **Financial Implications**

There are no financial implications with this paper.