Cllr Tudor Evans OBE

Title: Leader of the Opposition

Representing:  Plymouth City Council

Party: Labour

Political grouping: Labour

Committee appointments

Additional Information

Tudor Evans is the Leader of the Opposition of Plymouth City Council and in his 29th year of continuous service to the Ham ward in the authority. He was awarded an OBE in this Years’ Honours for service to Local Government.


Tudor won the 2015 LGiU Council Leader of the Year and led the Council to the finals of the MJ Local Authority of the Year Award 2016.


Tudor has worked with councils on peer review, conducts Top Team workshops and mentors other Local Authority Leaders.


He has been the Leader of the Plymouth Labour Group since May 1998.


He led the Council from 1998-2000, 2003-2007, and again between 2012-2016; he was Leader of the Opposition from 2000 to 2003 and 2007-2012.


Tudor has been a member of many since being elected in 1988, including:


  • Devon & Cornwall Development International
  • SW Regional Assembly
  • SW Regional Development Agency
  • Plymouth Development Corporation
  • Devon & Cornwall Police Authority
  • SW Local Government Association
  • Urban Commission
  • LGA City Region’s Board / Councillor’s Forum


Tudor was born in Ebbw Vale, South Wales and is an Environmental Science graduate. He was a director of a co-operative printing company for 13 years and is currently working as a local government consultant. His partner Jane works for Great Western Railway and he has two step-daughters and two grandsons.